NECESSARY PRE-BLURB

This entry may contain spoilers. It will definately barely contain my opinions, as well as vivid, possibly vitriolic and/or verbiolic expressions of the way the datapiece in question left me feeling. i do not pretend to have skill, professionalism or profundity. i write for my own mental health and/or entertainment. Whether you read my (gag)blog or not is irrelevant to me, as is your reaction to it. My opinions are opinions only and not to be mistaken for the ultimate truth about matters.

Like many reviewers, i find the character artwork hard to get used to. anyone who knows me knows i like my anime heroes tall, long black hair, overcoat/sword, etc. so there is little to look at here in that sense. But i am enjoying the story so far. it’s true some episodes i watch at 3x speed, because it can be a little drawwwwwwwn out at times, and the battles can get a little repetitive. but somehow a new mystery always seems to present itself to retain interest.

 the setpieces are suitable, especially the interiors of hotel providence, which help reveal the countess in astonishingly intuitive ways – dark recesses, mysterious spaces we can’t quite see into, fancy but twisty staircases.

the music is passable with the notable exception of Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto, an oft-repeated theme which i am a fan of, so i find it gorgeous.

if i remember to, i’ll comment on the ending. i seem to have particularly neglected the databunny persona of late. perhaps it’s time to splash out on a few entries…